6 Months Reflections and Haikus

If there is tomorrow when we’re not together … there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart … I’ll always be with you. -A.A. Milne

It absolutely boggles my brain that I’ve been in Mongolia for over 6 months now. It felt appropriate somehow for this mile marker to pass when I was in Ulaanbaatar with the rest of the M27 cohort. We’re a few short from when we started, and they are missed, but for the most part the majority seem to be doing really well here.

Overall things have surpassed what few expectations I had. I love almost everything about Mongolia; the people are friendly, the food is great, the culture is incredible. Winter is terrible. That’s about my only complaint.  The 6 month mile marker also marks the longest I’ve been in any one country in the last two years.

I miss home, but it becomes easier with time to be so far away. Still my facebook newsfeed reminds me that life carries on elsewhere without me and that is sometimes tough to swallow. I’m realizing that I’m going to have to put more effort into staying in touch with friends and family. That’s my first  New Year’s resolution.

I don’t have any more reflections to share at the moment, but I have written some haikus for your reading pleasure. Hopefully they will shed a little light into my day to day life even if some are a bit criptic. Enjoy!

Walking to work
The dogs pass me by
I kick the stones to the side
I am almost there

The Winter Air
Snow coats the ger roof
felt traps heat but smoke escapes
the sun is obscured

Hallways
Emma teacher hi
say students in the hallways
they shout but don’t talk

Nik
A swift sure movement
he extends his leg upwards
your eyes will water

Lunchtime
Za buuz baiga yu?
baikhgui, like all other days
pieroshkis it is

(Za buuz baiga yu? = ok are there buuz?)
(baikhgui = there are none)

Curious Boy
Ene yu we? He asks
my Mongolian fails me
ene yu we, indeed

(Ene yu we? = What is this?)

Mondays
Caikhan amarsan uu?
Caikhan, caikhan amarsan uu?
neg dekh odor baina

(Caikhan amarsan uu? = Did you rest well?)
(Neg dekh odor baina = it is Monday)

Codependency
Five days have passed by
eye contact across the street
a breath of relief

Leave a Reply

