Here Goes Nothing

So …. Wow, okay, this is really happening. Today’s the day! I’m off to Mongolia.

I’ve been in Seattle for the last few days for staging. I met the other 51 English Education trainees who come from all over the US. Together we make up M27, a pretty awesome group of people if I do say so myself. During this pre-departure conference we were asked to reflect on our commitment to serve and were given multiple tools to help us overcome various challenges in our service and keep us safe moving forward.

M27 - my government issued family for the next 27 months!

M27 – my government issued family for the next 27 months!

The last week or so has been emotionally tumultuous, but right now I’m feeling surprisingly calm. As I write this I’m sitting at our gate waiting to board our first flight to Seoul. From there we’ll take a flight to Ulaanbaatar.  My new friends are sitting around me talking amongst themselves or on the phone to their families and using wifi while they still have access. It’s crazy to think I only met these guys three days ago and we already feel like a group.

One thing we were asked to reflect on during staging was why we are choosing to serve with the Peace Corps at this point in our lives. Besides the fact that I would like to help others, gain invaluable skills and a new perspective on the world, yada yada, I really want to know if I live up to the lofty image of self I’ve developed. I consider myself to be pretty adventurous and confident. I talk the talk, but do I walk the walk? I guess we’ll see.

Looking forward to this new adventure and keeping you all updated on my experiences. Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Here Goes Nothing

  1. Michelle Cade says:

    Best wishes Emma! Even though we have never met (because I work with your Mom) she shared your adventure. I look forward to learning more about your experience and living vicariously through your experiences. Your life will never be the same. I do have a very close friend in the area so if you ever need anything.

    All the best,
    Michelle Cade

    Like

Leave a Reply

